Yerevan State opera house was opened in 1933 performing its first "Almast" Opera. The magnificent building of Opera House designed by Alexandr Tamanian was opened in 1940, which is nowadays one of the most picturesque place in Yerevan.
Magnificent Academical Theater of Opera and Ballet after A. Spendarian is situated in the very heart of Yerevan, in the Freedom square, where one can enjoy the beauty of evening Yerevan.
The Cascade Complex
The Cascade Complex was built in 1971. It's one of the main connection between Haghtanak park and city center. The Cascade complex has been designed by architect Jim Torosyan. The construction of the building has been interrupted after the Soviet Union collapse. The reconstruction of Cascade complex has started since 2000. It consists of 5 floors. Each floor is unique with its modern art sculptures and ornaments. Nowadays the cascade is considered one of the most romantic place in Yerevan, where one can enjoy the beauty of Yerevan from the top.
Here is situated the works of the famous sculpture Botero․ There one can find the originals of his famous works: Smoking Woman, Cat and Roman Soldier.
The Cascade Complex is famous for its Modern Art Collection, which are brought to Armenia by Gerard Cafeschian. Here is situated Cafeschian Center for the Arts, which offers different reach exhibitions starting from Cafeschian's collections to Contemporary Art.
Matenadaran is an institute of Ancient Manuscripts after Mesrop Mashtots. This is a depository of ancient manuscripts. The institute is situated in the heart of the city on a small hill. Here one can find manuscripts of over 2000 languages like: Persian, Japanese, Russian, Jewess, etc.. In ancient repository one can find the smallest manuscript in the world almost matchbox size around 19 gm. called "Tonatsuyts" and the biggest one, which weights 28kg, called "Msho Charentir".
Matenadaran was designed by Mark Grigoryan and was built in 1945-1957.
This special monument is dedicated to the victims of Genocide realized by the Turkish Ottoman Empire in 1915. Every Year on 24th of april thousand of Armenians through the whole Armenia and abroad visit to Tsisternakaberd to memorize the victims of the genocide
The Monument consists of a 44 metres stone structure and circle 12 slabs. These slabs are the symbol of the 12 regions which Armenia has lost in the territory of Turkey.
The long stone column symbolizes rebirth of Armenians.
The construction of the monument was finished in 1967.